Bra knives make good seam rippers!

I dug my sewing machine out of the closet the other day. It’s been collecting mildew all winter. When you’re depressed and the sun goes away for months at a time the last thing you want to do is be creative. I wiped it down and got busy making a cute little backpack for my Buddy. I used salvaged materials. Denim from a pair of daddy’s jeans I cut off for shorts. Zippers and straps from an old pack of daddy’s that had holes worn in the fabric. The clip is from the cat’s laser pointer. He’s old and doesn’t chase anything anymore.

If you know me at all you know that I can’t get through a project without it going horribly wrong at some point. Especially when I’m not working from a pattern. I had to remove the top zipper three times. That’s REALLY difficult when you don’t have a seam ripper.I thought I had one, but it probably got left behind in the move from Utah.

I tried just using the tip of my scissors but it was awkward. With my bad shoulder it was more trouble than it was worth. I started looking around for a box knife. You know, the kind that if you make one wrong move your whole finger comes off and you destroy the project entirely? Yeah, that kind. I couldn’t find one, thank goodness.

Then it hit me. Lightning had just struck my brain. I had something sharp (but not too sharp) and pointy that would probably do the job.20150604_123153

A Bra knife. It’s not finished. It needs a handle and a sheath. But it is bloody sharp, by George!

20150604_123544

I picked a few threads with it and giggled like a school girl. It’s was working! 😄 after a bit I got brave and, using my knees to hold one end and pulling the other with my left hand, sliced right through a line of sewing six inches long without a thought. It was like buttah.

Lather, rinse, repeat. It’s not easy getting two halves of a zipper to line up. The third time I had the seam out in thirty seconds flat. Take that cheap craft store rippers! 😛

I think every woman should keep a knife in her cleavage. It’s mostly for self defense. If you shove a spike like that into someone’s shoulder or neck (if you have to) chances are you are going to get away. But it’s also a very handy little blade for every day living. I picked seams with it. 😆


Leave a comment