About me

Anvil 1

Let me introduce myself. I’m The Blacksmith’s Wife. My name is Méran. That’s a French accent égu on the e. It’s pronounced Mare-on for those of you who don’t know what that means. No, I’m not French. That’s actually one of the few European nationalities I can’t claim. But mostly I’m Irish, Danish, Polish, Welsh. With a little Cherokee Indian thrown in for good measure. I’m a dark brunette with green eyes, freckles, and I tan like crazy in the summer, only to have it fade to pure white by Christmas.

I married my high school sweetheart, Lee, 14 years ago. We’ve had our ups and downs. But honestly, who hasn’t? We’re working on it. We’ve both changed a lot in the past couple years and we’re trying to get to know who the new us is.

We have a 4 1/2-year-old son who will from this point on be known as Buddy. He’s our miracle baby. It took nine years before he surprised us. We were about to give up. I have severe Estrogen Dominance that makes it nearly impossible to conceive and I suffered from Hyperemesis Gravidarum with my pregnancy. Fortunately, Buddy was born healthy and whole. Or so we thought until recently. He’s been diagnosed with Asburger’s Syndrome, an Autism Spectrum disorder.  It runs in my family, so I’m not really shocked. He makes life interesting, to say the least.

The last few months have been a whole new experience for us all. We moved into an RV on my brother-in-law’s land just before Thanksgiving. We’ve been in tight quarters before, but it’s really hard when you have a small child with special needs. Fortunately there’s a big yard he can go play in whenever he wants. We’re learning about Tiny Living.

The guys (Lee and his brother, Sam) have started a new business. A Blacksmith shop. Lee has always been involved in metal working. It started with jewelry making in high school, then cold forging armour as a hobby, and a bit of chain-mail making. Sam was a finish Carpenter. When a handful of railroad spikes made their way home Lee showed Sam that he could make a forge in an old BBQ to make knives and the rest is history. Sam was hooked.

He immediately bought everything they needed to make a proper forge and started production. A business license and weapon manufacturer permits came shortly thereafter. Sales have been trickling in. Slowly, but surely. Hopefully Lee won’t have to work his day job too much longer. fire-369738_1280

Facebook.com/sdmforge


Leave a comment